Posted by: kansaschern | April 10, 2012

Preservation Week Free Webinars!

Preservation Week is April 22-28, 2012

These ALCTS (Association for Library Collection & Technical Services) webinar events will be given free of charge in observance of Preservation Week 2012.

 

Taking Care: Family Textiles,  Tuesday, April 24, 2012     11am Pacific | 12 Mountain | 1pm Central | 2pm Eastern

Discussion of how to care for the various types of textiles found in family collections including clothing, flags and furniture coverings and framed textiles. The session will cover how to safely store and display textiles and how to determine when the services of a professional conservator are needed.

http://www.ala.org/alcts/confevents/upcoming/webinar/pres/042412

Preserving Your Personal Digital Photographs, Thursday, April 26, 2012  11am Pacific | 12 Mountain | 1pm Central | 2pm Eastern

Digital photos are fragile and require special care to keep them accessible. But preserving any kind of digital information is a new concept that most people have little experience with. Technologies change over time and become obsolete, making it difficult to access older digital photos. Learn about the nature of the problem and hear about some simple, practical tips and tools to help you keep your digital photos safe.

http://www.ala.org/alcts/confevents/upcoming/webinar/pres/042612

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Categories

%d bloggers like this: